heathersdigitalamerica

Just another WordPress.com site

Calling For A Social Change

on March 11, 2012

1) What Do I Care About?  I care about things and people in my inner circles.  I care about my family, friends and my pets.  For example, I care a lot when people criticize unions and government and federal workers because my parents are in unions and are government and federal workers who have been personally affected by furloughs and wage freezes.  I also care about things that will affect me such as local issues in Hawaii, things that affect my job and my ability to go to school (like increasing tuition and the threat of less federal aid for financial aid) and things that affect/ influence my future (like the availability of jobs when I graduate from college).

2) Do I Want Social Change?  I do but only for certain things.  Its really hard to care about everything and for me some social changes are less important for me than others are.  For example, I heard that HI lawmakers were recently trying to pass a law to make it legal for dogs to be in restaurants (and not just seeing eye dogs or dogs that help people with disabilities, but all kinds of small and large dogs).  While I do like dogs, I think that this type of social change is not a precedence that needs to be addressed now.  However, if something will negatively affect the things/ people  I care about, including my self, then I definitely would want social change to happen.  But realistically, I do not think that I could instigate or help to make a difference in any type of social change.  I feel so insignificant because of my age and the fact that I am a student who has no extra time to go and fight a battle.

I think that if I were going to start a type of social change it would be either to find more ways for Hawaii to become more self sustaining like investing in more forms of alternative energy and so on, rather than relying on tourism and the military as Hawaii’s main economic contributors.  I know that it is unrealistic for Hawaii’s dependence on outsider influences (like the military or tourism) to completely disappear.  But I do not like the fact that we always have to depend on others for so many things.  Because we always have to present Hawaii as this “Paradise” we are always developing new hotels or making new shopping malls that are just adding more congestion to the roads and making other problems as well.  I would like to see Hawaii provide more food for itself and so on by investing in more agricultural ideas (if it is even possible).  Another social change that I would want would be to find a way for women to become more equal in America’s workforce.  As a female, I really dislike the fact that women doing the same jobs as men STILL get paid less then men and there are far fewer women in positions of management versus the amount of men in such positions.

3) How Can I Start or Prevent It?  The obvious way to prevent any type of social change would be to do nothing.  But I don’t want to be one of those adults who complains all the time and does nothing.  So if I wanted to start a social change, perhaps a call for it could be made on Facebook or by calling on my friends and family and other networks.

4) Are These People Smarter Than Me?  Yes.  Considering that I know very little about technology and many other things as well, I have no problem believing that the people of the Share conference are smarter and more driven than me.

5) How Are These People Different From Me?  I am not sure but I think that one of the points of the Share conference was about finding ways to share information, movies, music and so on with the public so that they can have their own voice without governmental and corporate interference.  The organizers want to empower young and poor people into instituting social change for their own society.  Because the Share conference target audience is much larger and they actually have a clear vision of how they want to accomplish their goal, I would say that the organizers of the Share conference are much more driven, organized and nobler than any social changes that I could have come up with.  The Share Conference seemed like something to empower the little person and getting people in a society to speak up and make the necessary changes for their own people.  The bigger message seemed to be one of “If you don’t do it, then who will.”

6) What would it take for you to institute or get involved in a social change?

7) Why are younger generations so reluctant to get involved in today’s social issues?  Has America’s Reluctance to Get Involved Made Us a Selfish, Idle and Lazy Society?

4 responses to “Calling For A Social Change

  1. 6) What would it take for you to institute or get involved in a social change?
    Currently I would not get involved with social change. If there was a bigger/ mass social change movement and majority of the people were involved I think I would then join the movement. I think there isn’t enough people currently to actually change the views of society.

    7) Why are younger generations so reluctant to get involved in today’s social issues? Has America’s Reluctance to Get Involved Made Us a Selfish, Idle and Lazy Society?
    I think younger generations so reluctant to get involved in today’s social issues due to their lack of education. I don’t believe schools have done a good job educating children on social issues. Thus, their lack of this knowledge prevents them from getting involved. For instance, how many people in the younger generations understand the voting system and actively vote?

  2. Paige says:

    6) I really dislike having to “get involved” in social issues. I am an armchair academic, not a frontline warrior. Even in video games, I prefer quietly healing in the background to leading the charge. I suppose I would always be willing to contribute to change via education and the spreading of it, but for me to actually physically get involved, people would have to literally come to my house and drag me from it. That’s what it would take, on a very literal level.

    7) I don’t think young people are reluctant to get involved with social issues. We simply have a different way of “getting involved.” For all we disparage social media, it does do a remarkable job of spreading consciousness. We don’t do things in a traditional way, and since the people writing the narrative on us are still doing things in that traditional way, they interpret us as being totally idle and lazy. The Kony 2012 campaign, problematic as it is, demonstrates that we can be roused to support a cause if it travels through channels we understand…

  3. But realistically, I do not think that I could instigate or help to make a difference in any type of social change. I feel so insignificant because of my age and the fact that I am a student who has no extra time to go and fight a battle.

    Really? Why not? Do you not have friends, family and people in your inner circle that share the same values and concerns as you? Do you believe you are the only person who answered questions 1 and 2 in the way you did?

    I know that it is unrealistic for Hawaii’s dependence on outsider influences (like the military or tourism) to completely disappear.

    Why is it unrealistic? It’s totally possible!

    As we discussed, if Fukushima had been a little worse and there was even the rumor of radiated beaches, the “influences” of tourism would wane pretty quickly.

    The military is a slightly different issue given the strategic importance of Hawai’i in terms of intelligence gathering, data transfer and naval support to name three things. But realistically, one could argue that Walmart has a greater influence on Hawai’i right now.

    If all you’re talking about is influence and not necessarily its very presence, there are many things that a passionate and organized group of citizens can do to make such institutions perform greater services for the community… However, if you are actually indifferent to the military’s presence in Hawai’i and the way it operates, this is all just rhetoric.

    • younghea says:

      I think because I’ve always been told the limitations that I feel that I could do very little. I do have friends and family who believe in the same things as I do, but I don’t see them being very proactive about addressing the issues. Some of them don’t even vote, mostly they just complain.

      I think right now i think that it is unrealistic for Hawaii not to count on outside influences because we have not begun to even consider being more self-sustainable. But I just read in my other class that our dependence on tourism and the military could really hurt us in the end because tourism rates fluctuates with the economy and the military is only a big spender in Hawaii because of Senator Inouye’s efforts. So I was right, Hawaii needs to find way to be more self-sustainable.

Leave a Reply

